You’ve likely heard of Chakras and unblocking them, but what does that even mean!?

The seven Chakras are the main energy centres within the body. We want them to be open in order to have energy flow freely throughout our body and we can operate harmoniously body, mind and spirit. The word Chakra translates to “wheel” in Sanskrit and are described as wheels of free flowing positive energy. Imagine a pin wheel on a stick, and as the pin wheel spins, energy is expelling from the wheel and sending it through the body. Now each of the seven Chakras are said to correlate with different traits, abilities, expressions and health factors.

The first Chakra is the Root Chakra.

It is located at the base of the spine and affects the lower limbs, hips, spine and large intestine. It is said to carry the energy of the earth, provides feelings of security, safety and grounding. When this Chakra is open, we can feel confident, and when it is blocked we may feel threatened and uneasy. The colour associated to this Chakra is Red.

The second Chakra is the Sacral Chakra.

It is located in the lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and affects reproductive energy, sensuality, pleasure and creativity. This Chakra is expressed with the colour Orange and helps inform us how we relate to our emotions and the emotions of others. When this Chakra is blocked, you may feel a lack of control in your life.

The third Chakra is the Solar Plexus Chakra.

It is located in the upper abdomen, in the stomach area. This Chakra is associated to the fire element and can help govern our sense of self confidence, inner strength, will power and self discipline. Think of the last time you had butterflies, or a pit in the stomach; that was your Solar Plexus Chakra at work. The colour is Yellow and if this Chakra is blocked, you might feel overwhelmed, shame, and self doubt. When this Chakra is open, we tend to feel more at ease and able to express your true self in confidence.

The fourth Chakra is the Heart Chakra

This Chakra is located in the centre of the chest and is said to be the bridge connecting the lower Chakras (linked to materiality) and the upper Chakras (linked to spirituality). It affects the heart and the lungs and is associated to the air element. It can influence our love, compassion, and acceptance to ourselves and towards others. If this Chakra is blocked we may have difficulty opening up to others, maybe feel tightness in the chest. When this Chakra is open, we can experience a deeper sense of compassion and empathy in all aspects. The colour associated to this Chakra is Green.

The fifth Chakra is the Throat Chakra

This Chakra is located in the throat and connected to our ability to communicate and verbal expression. This Chakra relates to the mouth, jaw, teeth, tongue, pharynx and thyroid. A blocked or misaligned Throat Chakra can be seen through voice and throat problems as well as through dominating conversations, gossiping, speaking without thinking and having trouble speaking your mind. When in alignment, you will speak and listen with compassion and feel confident in doing so. The colour associated to this Chakra is Blue.

The sixth Chakra is the Third Eye Chakra

This Chakra is located in the forehead within the space between the eyebrows. It is also known as the “Brow Chakra” and the colour is Indigo. This Chakra focuses on openness, intuition and imagination. The Third Eye Chakra also guides our perception, wisdom and inspiration. Blockages can manifest as headaches, issues with sight or concentration, and even hearing problems. When open, a person is more able to follow their intuition and is more awake to their reality or the “big picture”.

The last and seventh Chakra is the Crown Chakra

The colour associated is Violet and is located on the very top of the head. This Chakra is said to be the gateway to higher levels of consciousness. It is connected to all of the preceding Chakras and therefore every part of the body; organs, brain and nervous system. It is considered the Chakra of enlightenment and represents our connection to our selves, our purpose and our spirituality. A blocked Crown Chakra may make a person narrow minded, anxious, skeptical or stubborn. When open, it can help keep the other Chakras open to bring a calm to one self within the body and mind. This can lead a person to bliss, freedom and enlightenment.

Sometimes, clearing Chakras and opening a blockage can help to change your every day life in a positive way. And just maybe, the energy can flow through you freely and you can find yourself more confident in who you are mentally, physically, emotionally, and spiritually. Maybe we can get used to the idea that free flowing energy will help us feel at ease when we used to feel anxious; start speaking with intention, and truly capture each moment in this beautiful life. I wish that for you, and for all.

Be sure to check our Workshops and Registered Programs page for an up and coming Chakra Yoga 8-Week series!